Site Issues Training Log & Site Support » Manual Upload giving an error Rss Feed  
Moderators: Ron Reply
2017-03-03 11:00 AM

User image

Champion
8767
5000200010005001001002525
Evergreen, Colorado
Subject: Manual Upload giving an error

I've been manually uploading .fit files I download from training peaks (after Garmin Connect syncs them to training peaks).  It's giving me an error now though.  It says the "oops somethings gone wrong and we're working on it" pop up.  Ideas?  I had to switch to this method rather than the direct training peaks upload because the training peaks upload used to give me the weird pop up error....



2017-03-03 5:12 PM
in reply to: jldicarlo

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Thanks. We're looking into this. You are not the only one getting the error. There seems to have been a change in the file format for .fit that our software isn't digesting well. We're fixing it. I'll have an update soon.
2017-03-16 9:44 AM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Originally posted by alicefoeller Thanks. We're looking into this. You are not the only one getting the error. There seems to have been a change in the file format for .fit that our software isn't digesting well. We're fixing it. I'll have an update soon.
OK me too. I thought that it was a change to the trainer SW I'm using as it just had an update, glad I checked here first!  Please let us know when this is working again...

2017-03-16 11:04 AM
in reply to: Donto

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Originally posted by Donto

Originally posted by alicefoeller Thanks. We're looking into this. You are not the only one getting the error. There seems to have been a change in the file format for .fit that our software isn't digesting well. We're fixing it. I'll have an update soon.
OK me too. I thought that it was a change to the trainer SW I'm using as it just had an update, glad I checked here first!  Please let us know when this is working again...




The developer would love to see a screenshot of the "oops" error and the URL of the page where the error shows. We are checking our error logs to try to get a better idea of how to fix it, but we're having trouble finding the problem in there.
2017-03-21 11:01 AM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Originally posted by alicefoeller
Originally posted by Donto

Originally posted by alicefoeller Thanks. We're looking into this. You are not the only one getting the error. There seems to have been a change in the file format for .fit that our software isn't digesting well. We're fixing it. I'll have an update soon.
OK me too. I thought that it was a change to the trainer SW I'm using as it just had an update, glad I checked here first!  Please let us know when this is working again...

The developer would love to see a screenshot of the "oops" error and the URL of the page where the error shows. We are checking our error logs to try to get a better idea of how to fix it, but we're having trouble finding the problem in there.
I would have replied sooner didn't know you responded the same day.

I attached the screenshot and also a .fit file the developer can play with.  This file loads into Golden Cheetah no problem.





(Manaul-upload-error.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Manaul-upload-error.JPG (34KB - 3 downloads)
2017-03-13(08-59-00)-MT-dontomelbo-SM-wk02-Group1-wo3-VO2max-2.fit (43KB - 2 downloads)
2017-03-21 5:14 PM
in reply to: Donto

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Thanks! I'm hoping we can resolve this very soon.


2017-03-21 5:16 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
While we're waiting for the fix, is there a reason you aren't having Garmin sync with Beginner Triathlete to avoid the whole uploading thing? I see you're a Gold Member. You can set up the sync one time, and every time Garmin Connect gets a new file, it will send it over here. Or you can sync with Training Peaks via Tapiriik.com
2017-03-21 5:30 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Originally posted by alicefoeller While we're waiting for the fix, is there a reason you aren't having Garmin sync with Beginner Triathlete to avoid the whole uploading thing? I see you're a Gold Member. You can set up the sync one time, and every time Garmin Connect gets a new file, it will send it over here. Or you can sync with Training Peaks via Tapiriik.com
Yes, I don't have an Garmin and the .fit file is generated from my bike trainer program, which I use virtual power.  Still old school!  

What would be ideal is if the workout could be uploaded directly to BT from the program.  It can upload to Strava, TP, and maybe others IIRC.

2017-03-21 5:36 PM
in reply to: Donto

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
How about go to Tapiriik.com and log into Training Peaks and also log into BeginnerTriathlete, and then those two will sync automatically in the future.

We invested in our relationship with Tapiriik as the intermediary among a lot of other platforms so we don't have to keep reprogramming our site to accept different files from every device as it's invented and altered. I think it might work well for you.
2017-03-21 6:40 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Ok reactivated my old TP account, Linked my MT to Tapiriik (paid it $4) and BT should auto-sync with it going forward for my rides and any runs I get in on RK.  I hope!

2017-03-22 3:01 PM
in reply to: Donto

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Let me know how it goes! I hope I can save you some time and hassle!


2017-03-23 12:06 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Well the ride I did today did not get sync'd to BT, it's on the TP site from MaximumTrainer.  All the dog walks for the week captured on Runkeeper are on BT as well as TP (need to figure out how to not have the walks sync'd, only runs).  Any idea as to why the ride from TP didn't get sync'd?





(tapiriik setup.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
tapiriik setup.JPG (31KB - 3 downloads)
2017-03-23 2:32 PM
in reply to: Donto

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Well, that's unexpected. We haven't had that happen before, where the syncing is working generally, but for one sport, it won't work.
Looking into it.
2017-03-23 4:55 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

I looked into this some more, found the following under the activities, not sure what this means though!





(tapiriik no bike.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
tapiriik no bike.JPG (54KB - 3 downloads)
2017-03-25 3:43 PM
in reply to: Donto

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Hmm, that's interesting. Thanks for the screenshot. I'll pass that along. The whole point of the system is that the files are synced across systems - all of the systems support "downloading" in that way.
2017-04-05 2:38 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
Can you tell me if this is working correctly for you now?
We had a major upgrade that should have taken care of this issue.


2017-04-05 3:46 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Pro
6492
50001000100100100100252525
Melbourne FL
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Originally posted by alicefoeller Can you tell me if this is working correctly for you now? We had a major upgrade that should have taken care of this issue.
Yes, I used the same file I posted here for you.  I'll check again later with different files.

2017-04-11 12:52 PM
in reply to: jldicarlo

User image

Expert
602
500100
Ontario, Canada
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error

Even when Garmin syncs directly with my BT, I have noticed lately that all the heart rate zones and splits data are not syncing / displaying properly on BT.  Is this related?

2017-04-11 2:47 PM
in reply to: patricia7

User image

Master
1806
1000500100100100
Columbus, Ohio
Gold member
Subject: RE: Manual Upload giving an error
I'm seeing a similar error with heartrate.
We are looking into it.
New Thread
Site Issues Training Log & Site Support » Manual Upload giving an error Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

Manual upload differences

Started by Mountaindan
Views: 625 Posts: 5

2014-08-29 8:40 AM Mountaindan

TrainerRoad manual uploads?

Started by robgram
Views: 1226 Posts: 4

2013-12-18 9:05 AM Ron

Manual upload issue after 1/25

Started by robgram
Views: 910 Posts: 5

2013-02-16 1:12 PM Ron

Uploading a manual file

Started by NewClydesdale
Views: 680 Posts: 2

2012-01-02 7:18 PM marmadaddy

ASP error when uploading pictures to album

Started by newleaf
Views: 1126 Posts: 4

2008-01-05 11:09 AM marmadaddy
RELATED ARTICLES
date : June 18, 2008
author : Team BT
comments : 3
Easily transfer your workout data from your Garmin, Polar, Timex and more directly into your BT training log. Eliminate the manual entries. Save time!