General Discussion Triathlon Talk » relentlessness Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-03-04 10:04 PM

Subject: relentlessness
hi
Just wondering if any one else finds their training a bit overwhelming and relentless at times? I'm only training for a HIM and I'm not very good at anything so I think that wears me out, but the last couple of weeks I just feel tired all the time, a bit down and half want to give it up.
I'm also training to run by HR and am very frustrated that I am still having to walk to keep my HR down, feel like I'm never going to be able to do it.
Maybe I'm just having an off couple of weeks

2017-03-05 12:26 AM
in reply to: loops

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: relentlessness
Yes, anything worth doing is sometimes hard, and can at times become something of a grind. Particularly if it's your first HIM, it's a big step up in volume for most people, and the hours get pretty long at some point. Fitness also doesn't usually increase in a linear way, which can be frustrating--one tends to plateau for a while before making progress. And with training for longer events in particular, cumulative fatigue can cause you to seem to temporarily lose fitness--going slower at the same effort, higher than expected heart rates for pace/power, etc. Some of it is just part of the process.