General Discussion Triathlon Talk » *Super* novice advice for just starting the journey! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-05-21 10:56 AM

Subject: *Super* novice advice for just starting the journey!
Hi all-
Very happy to have found this resource! Cutting to the chase, here's my question: If you were to tell a complete novice how to train a year in advance for a Tri (most likely sprint/long shot Olympic distance)- What would that entail? (Loose training plans fine; any advice at all appreciated!) Some context: I'm a late 20-something, female, work in a creative field + a survival job in NYC, and only recently for the very first time have started to become a fitness enthusiast; very new to everything as I have never been "athletic" before (besides a bout of gymnastics/soccer when I was young). It's an odd thing that I have somehow managed to set my heart on doing a Tri by next year, and yet, the seed has been planted and it's all I have been thinking about! I don't even own a bike, so I need to save up my $$ (artist's life in NY, y'all) to purchase. Any practical suggestions, like when is the latest/earliest I absolutely need to buy a bike, or without being able to afford a personal coach, how often should I be practicing each sport, what are the best free coaching resources/books/etc. I'm pacing the endeavor, as to not bite off more then I can chew. In terms of fitness level, it's all new- I can tell you I'm thin (117 pounds/5'4) but working on strength for the next 3 months with a body weight/calisthenics program (not strong at all at the moment) and I've been biking 5 miles on a gym bike + running straight through for about 24 minutes, about 2 miles. I'm going to start swimming- had a pool growing up and absolutely love swimming, but not sure how to use proper form.
So given all this, with about a year out, how should I be training/practicing?
Sorry for looong post! Any advice at all would be helpful!

Thanks and well wishes to all!

Jo