General Discussion Triathlon Talk » science behind depression Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-10-04 11:40 AM

User image

Expert
Livermore, Ca
Subject: science behind depression
Question for the Doctors out there. How much science is behind the claim that depression is caused by a chemical imbalance in the brain. The websites that claim thisseem to be run by drug companies so I'm alittle suspicious.

2006-10-04 12:07 PM
in reply to: #560247

User image

Gilbert, AZ
Subject: RE: science behind depression
I'm not a professional in the field of neuroscience, so I can't give you a definitive answer - however, from my understanding and my personal opinion, I feel that a lot of depression has to do with chemical imbalances and lifestyle. However, the latter can become a very sensitive topic so I will defer on commenting on that point for now. There has been a lot of research on this area in the field of neurosciences, so if there are any neuroscientists out there you may be able to clarify this a little better.

Drugs like Prozac, Zoloft, Celexa, Lexapro, etc. all work because they are in a class of medications called SSRI's or Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors - basically means that they prevent they reuptake or reabsorption of serotonin.

Serotonin is a chemical neurotransmitter produced in the body that is believed to affect mood, sleep, sexuality, and appetite to name a few. Imbalances of serotonin can cause headaches, mood swings, depression, bipolar, etc. So it is thought that people with depression suffer from not enough or imbalances in their serotonin or norepinephrine (another neurotransmitter involved with moods) levels. SSRIs help regulate serotonin levels.

There are some other medications like Effexor, that focus more on the norepinephrine and serotonin.