General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Howdy from Texas! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-27 11:02 PM

User image

Subject: Howdy from Texas!
I'm shortly to begin training for my first tri ever. It's the Gulfman half-ironman in Galveston, TX 10 Apr 2005. I'm unsure exactly of how to wisely go about training for it, but I've purchased a couple of books to help guide me, and I'm hoping to get advice from anyone with more experience than I currently have. Some other information about me:

I'm from Texas, living in Fort Worth currently. I'm in my last year of medical school, so trying to find time is a little tough sometimes, but I'll work with whatever I've got. I enjoy playing soccer, lifting weights, playing guitar, being outdoors doing just about anything, playing playstation 2 (sometimes), and some other things I'm sure I'm forgetting.

Well, I think that's about it for now. Let me know if anyone reading this has advice, encouragement, etc...for me. I wish you all the best and safest while you train. Thanks for taking the time to read this. May the joy of the Lord be your delight!

sincerely,
John Drexler

2004-07-28 12:33 PM
in reply to: #41032

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Subject: RE: Howdy from Texas!

welcome John!  In addition to your books, check out the homepage of this site - www.beginnertriathlete.com

Consider doing a sprint distance tri this fall, if possible, just to get the experience.  Best of luck!

2004-07-28 5:09 PM

User image

Champion
Gold member

theirs a 1/2 im plan on the site...what are your current swim, bike and run levels?

best of luck.

2004-07-28 7:48 PM

Veteran
Washington