General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Gu for recovery? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-28 8:08 AM

Pro
Andover
Subject: Gu for recovery?
I have read that it is best to get a large amount of protein in your system within an hour after an extended effort. Doing this, so said the article, will help in rebuilding your muscle / glycogen levels but will not store the carbs as fat.

I'm wondering if this is actually true and if there would be any benefit to sucking down a Gu packet after a race to help with recovery? I'm still on Phase 2 of the South Beach Diet and limiting my carbs but I would like to get the most out of each extended effort as possible. (I know, I'm looking for the best of both worlds.)

Also, does anyone have any feedback on the Gu w/ protein?

Thanks for any comments.

Rob

2004-07-28 8:16 AM
in reply to: #41077

Expert
Princeton, MN
Subject: RE: Gu for recovery?
Rob;
I'm pretty new at all this stuff too. I've read the same things. But I figure that as I've read it in articles by Mark Allen (multiple Ironman winner) and Chris Carmichael (Lance Armstrongs trainer) then it must be right. At the least I always try to eat a couple of handfuls of nuts after a workout for the protein. The nutrition aspect of training can be one of the most confusing parts of this sport to the beginner.

Ian
2004-07-28 9:00 AM

User image

Elite
Racine, WI
I'm pretty new to endurance sports but what I remember from my gym days was that you needa mix of carbs and protein for recovery. WHile the protein will build the muscles, the carbs will restore glycogen levels AND cause insulin levels to rise. Insulin opens a "gateway" allowing the protein and carbs to be stored. If you just burned up your glycogen levels with a workout, your body will (I believe) store those carbs as glycogen as opposed to fat. Of course, excess carbs get stored as fat. So the trick, as always, is not to overdo it.