General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Not your typical swimming/breathing question, I promise Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-10-10 7:23 AM

User image

Veteran
Tucson, AZ
Subject: Not your typical swimming/breathing question, I promise
OK, so I'm new to swimming. With absolutely no previous experience I took some lessons this summer (June/July). After about 3 months of constant drilling I'm able to actually swim now. It's pretty exciting to be able and jump in and swim.

Anyhoo, I struggled with the mechanics of breathing at first, but now I've got it (for the most part). I do bi-lateral breathing on every 3rd stroke and that's working well. The only problem is that by the end of my swim, I have some serious abdominal (gas) pains. And the longer I swim, the more intense they are... like last week, I did 38 laps non-stop and had to make a mad dash to the bathroom when I was finished. Today I swam a mile and it was pretty much the same thing.

There's something going on with my breathing because I'm somehow swallowing a bunch of air. I'm breathing/bubbling when my face is in the water and when I turn to breathe, I'm only breathing in (as opposed to trying to exhale and inhale).

Has anyone ever experienced anything like this? What the heck am I doing wrong?

Man, I'm such a freak... how does a bathroom stop figure into T1 times??

2006-10-10 7:50 AM
in reply to: #565227

User image

Subject: RE: Not your typical swimming/breathing question, I promise
YOU ARE NOT A FREAk. A lot of people get gas pains after long sessions. Myself included.

I am interested to see the response...
2006-10-10 7:50 AM

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Obviously, stopping at the porta-john adds to your transition times...