General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Long Island Open Water Swim Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-02-25 2:58 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Bethpage, New York
Subject: Long Island Open Water Swim
I was wondering if anyone knew of good places to get in some open water swimming practice. I know it's still early in the year to get out into the water, but it's something I've been thinking about. That being said, if you know of good places and want some swimming company let me know. I'm fairly new to Long Island so I'm unaware of any "hidden gems" that may be around.

2007-02-25 3:51 PM
in reply to: #702479

User image

Regular
Long Island
Subject: RE: Long Island Open Water Swim
I swim mostly on the north shore. West Meadow beach stinks it is real shallow during low tide. I prefer cedar beach, buoys are far out in deep water. The beach gets crowded but not the water. You will often find people out there in wet suits doing laps. The swimming area is 300 meters with buoys ever 100, so it is easy to keep track of distance. There are a lot of jellyfish in August and sometime the water quality can go down hill. Port Jeff is real nice but private, they can be snobs to crashers. You can get away with it on a bike but the check passes on cars.
2007-02-26 12:42 AM

User image

Expert
Carmel
At Long Beach, the lifeguards let you swim parallel to the shore. You have to go and get one of the buoy's (i think thats how you spell it) to swim with. It has a strap, and it drags behind you. I have used this when I've gone and it is an easy way to get a workout in at the beach.
2007-02-26 6:18 PM

User image

Veteran
Long Island, NY