General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie needs help! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-04-07 6:16 PM

User image

Veteran
Denver
Subject: Newbie needs help!
Okay, since I'm new to triathlons, I signed up for a sprint 16 weeks out. However, I just had a friend convince me to sign up for another sprint that is 4 weeks away. Yikes! I need help with getting/creating a 4-week, crash-course training program. I have a decent endurance base and come from a strong cycling background, swam on a team growing up, and have been running for at least 30 minutes 3 times each week. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Rebecca =)

2007-04-07 6:39 PM
in reply to: #752567

User image

Houston, TX
Subject: RE: Newbie needs help!
i think anyone on the site is gonna be hard pressed to come up with a crash plan to get you ready in 4 weeks.  that doesn't mean you can't do it though.  it sounds like you have already got pretty good base fitness to start with.  keep running the way you are, get a few swim workouts in per week starting TODAY, and get that bike out of the closet and get about 3 rides in per week.  hopefully your swim and bike will come back quickly.  slack off in the week leading up to your race for a taper.  you'll finish the sprint for sure but look for better results in the one four months away.
2007-04-07 6:51 PM
in reply to: #752582

User image

Veteran
Denver
tag - 2007-04-07 6:39 PM