General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wetsuits - To Sleeve or not to Sleeve Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-05-08 10:30 AM

User image

Arlington, TX
Subject: Wetsuits - To Sleeve or not to Sleeve
I'm a newbie and am competing in my 1st tri in late June. The swim portion will be in a spring-fed lake that seldom gets above 74 degrees in the afternoons. (was only 76 deg on a day with 113 deg air temp) Water temp will likely be around 70 during the race.

Basically I've decided that I need a wetsuit for this race and need some direction on what to buy. I've seen a few links on BT for wetsuits at a discount and am looking at possibly an Xterra or TYR suit. Any feedback on those brands of suits?

I'm also debating whether to get sleeves or not. I'd appreciate any opinions from the group.

Thanks.

2007-05-08 10:51 AM
in reply to: #792913

Veteran
Chicago, IL
Subject: RE: Wetsuits - To Sleeve or not to Sleeve
if this is your first time being in a wetsuit i would suggest renting to see how it feels. It would normally be about $50 for the week. Just contact the nearsest multi sport store. I am going to buy this year for the first time and will probably go sleeveless just because it is a lot easier to get off.
2007-05-08 11:19 AM

User image

Veteran
Trust me, you don't "need" a wetsuit for a 70° swim. If you want one, then sure, go ahead and get one. Personally, I don't like sleeves. I'd rather have the feedom of motion.
2007-05-08 12:11 PM

User image

Champion
Dallas, TX
I'm a whimp. If the water is cold enough for a wetsuit. I need sleeves. Here is a review I wrote up in reference to wetsuits I have bought and tried out. Might help, even though you didn't ask about these brands.

I have bought, tried on, and swam in the following brands:

Blue Seventy (BS)
QR
2XU
Zoot
Desoto