General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Building bike strength/endurance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-05-18 4:22 PM

Subject: Building bike strength/endurance
I just started training, and the bike is the one thing I'm actually having a hard time with. I've run for awhile, and I did a 1500m swim the other day with barely any training other than occasionally swimming laps for cardio and no real difficulty except feeling a little weak because I hadn't eaten enough (I did breaststroke and it took me 43 minutes, though). But my quads are evidently too weak for the bike -- I have strong calves and hamstrings for running, but my endurance on the bike is really horrible because my quads tire out too quickly. I can barely even go up a hill. Right now, I'm planning to do about 3 bike workouts a week, basically starting off just going as far as I can every time (which is about 6 miles, and I'll add hills and speed workouts as I get better), as well as adding the quad machine to my strength workouts (usually I do just upper body work, since yoga and running take care of my lower body). Also, I've started biking to school -- which is only a little over a mile each way, but every little bit counts I suppose and it beats waiting for the bus. Is there anything else I should add? Any suggestions? The first race I want to do is in about 2 months and has a 40k bike ride so I'm willing to do as much training as my body can handle until then. Also, my bike is a specialized Hard Rock mountain bike that I got, I think, in 4th grade (making it about 10 years old).

Oh, and will the butt soreness go away or do I need to get a new seat right now? It feels like I have bruising between my cheeks and my tailbone is sore

2007-05-18 4:29 PM
in reply to: #807393

User image

Elite
Texas
Subject: RE: Building bike strength/endurance

The soreness goes away. Your endurance will get better. Just keep riding your bike.