General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 6 Weeks until First Sprint , Help! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-06-19 9:24 PM

User image

Master
Kirkland, WA
Subject: 6 Weeks until First Sprint , Help!
Hey everybody,

I am a newbie to triathlons and i'm looking for a little advice. I am young (almost 21) but i didn't play sports in high school or anything. i've never been into running or swimming much but i've mtn biked on and off for the last 5 years or so. Here is where i'm at right now, any suggestions would be great!

Swim: my weakest link - i've only got in the pool a few times since i started training (its outdoor, not heated and full of kids on nice days) and i haven't come accustomed to swimming long distances. i can probably do about 150-200 yards without stopping, but then i need a breather. also, the swim's ive been doing have usually been after a ride or run. would the most benificial thing to do be to stack up yards swimming - if i can only swim a couple hundred yards at a time, do those as sets and do a bunch of them?

Bike: This is my strongest point - i just bought an old road bike (Circa. 1985) that came with clipless pedals and aerobars. its a decent bike, depite the age and it rides pretty fast. i've been doing 20 mile rides and my last one was 1:05 (mostly flat, but a couple 5-7 min hills).

Run: i've been doing 2 mile runs about 3 times a week. i seem to get shin splints quite a bit and i don't know if its because of my posture or not enough stretching or training or what. I just got some new shoes (Saucony's) and have tried several others and also got shin splints. i have high arches, and that could be a factor. my pace is about 8:30 a mile. Are there any suggestions to improving running posture?

As far as stature goes, i'm about 5'6, 155 lbs, medium build. i'm probably 5 or 7 lbs overweight but that is going down a little bit.
Any suggestions would be greatly benificial as i want to get as much advice to succeed as possible!