General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Brand New Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-07-09 11:00 AM

Subject: Brand New
Hi all! I'm brand new to tri's. A friend and I have decided to start training for '08. We're looking for any information on gear races in the Midwest, particularly Kansas, etc. If you can offer any help advice, etc. We'd love to hear it. We live in western Kansas and honestly don't know much about the sport. We're doing it strictly to get into better shape and feel good about ourselves. Thanks in advance.

2007-07-09 11:27 PM
in reply to: #877292

User image

Veteran
Roeland Park
Subject: RE: Brand New
Welcome welcome!! Great to have you on BT!

You will find alot of great people in Kansas-land on here.

A great place to find tris all over is www.trifind.com or you could even look @ the USAT website for sactioned races. www.usatriathlon.org

A great way to get involved even before racing is volunteering at a few events. Gives you the chance to see all the fun!

Hope to see you at some races!
2007-07-10 12:16 PM

Regular
I live in Topeka but grew up in Hays. What part of Western Kansas do you live. I go back west all the time. I am new at the sport also. I have done my first Sprint, Topeka Tinman. It is a great first race. the swim is 300 meters so its nice and short. I am training to do a full course in two weeks in Lawrence, the Midwest Mayhem. Finally I am going to end the season with a Half Ironman, The Redman in Oklahoma City. If I can help or point you in the right direction let me know. Good luck, once you do your first race you will be hooked. Make sure to look at the training plans here.
2007-07-10 2:21 PM

User image

Expert
Denver, Colorado
When do you want to race? There are a good number of races that are at the east end of the state. Lawrence in Two weeks, Kansas City in August, and another Race in September, they Midwest Meltdown (don't remember the location).
2007-07-10 2:48 PM