General Discussion Triathlon Talk » knee injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-09-25 3:23 PM

Subject: knee injury
I am new to triathlon and plan to do my first race in May of '08. However, I injured my right knee about 4-5 months ago while running and am still feeing pain from it. It's a stiffness around my kneecap and I think it is tendinitis. I stopped running several weeks until it felt a little better, but the pain came back when I started running again. Is this type of injury common? Does anybody know how to treat this kind of thing? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2007-09-25 3:34 PM
in reply to: #978824

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: knee injury
No sense to train if the pain just keeps returning after you get back into running. Your best bet is to see a sports doctor. He'll know more than I! Do you wear orthodics? If not, that may be an idea...
2007-09-25 3:40 PM

Thanks for the response. I don't wear orthotics but that's something to consider. My main concern is keeping up my fitness level while trying to rest my knee as much as possible. Thanks again

Speedwagon
2007-09-25 3:56 PM

User image

Master
Sunny Southern Cal

Is the pain during running, after, or both?  If during the run, is it from the outset, or does it happen after you've been out for 30 minutes?  Is it located below the kneecap, underneath, to the outside edge, etc.?

I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but one common issue is IT Band.  Another is patellar tendonitis, also known as Jumpers knee.  And there are many others.  Search the Injury forum for knee pain and knee posts.  Lots of websites with info on knee pain from running -- Google is your friend.

I had the patellar tendonitis issue, and people recommend yoga and other strengthening exercises for that as a long-term fix.  I have just been using something similar to the cho-pat straps underneath the knee cap, and those work well for me.

2007-09-26 8:32 AM