General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Re-iterating the importance of *proper* stretching Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-11-09 7:01 PM

User image

Pro
St Charles, IL
Subject: Re-iterating the importance of *proper* stretching
There are new members here everyday, and I've got some personal experience with this, so figured I'd ressurect the topic.

I've been having some pain in my lower calf/upper ankle on and off for the last couple months. Not getting better despite taking it easier(ish) I finally broke down and went to orthopod today.

Fortunately, it's not achilles tendonitis ( which is what I had feared ), but just an overly tight soleus muscle. This is the less visible of the two muscles in your calf. All of my stretching has been 'straight knee' stretches, which while stretching the calf focus on the gastronemicus muscle ( the big one that you can see easily ). In order to properly stretch the soleus, you have to do 'bent knee' calf stretches.

The soleus being very tight has put a strain on the muscle/ achilles tendon connection, which is what is causing my pain.

I get about week of no running or cycling or legs, daily anti-inflam, and stretching 3-4 times a day. ( Thankfully a fairly short amount of time, as I was fearful of hearing I needed to take longer time off than that ).

So, once again, make sure you stretch, and make sure your stretching is effective.

In that vein, what stretches do different people here do in order to keep everything loose and flexible and pain-free?

-Chris

2004-11-09 7:23 PM
in reply to: #80985

Veteran
SF soon!
Subject: RE: Re-iterating the importance of *proper* stretching
Did you try getting a massage? I had the same symptoms in May and unfortunately it included suffering through a 5K. Got a massage shortly after and it helped tremendously.
2004-11-09 8:53 PM

User image

Elite
Chicago