General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Good runner, slow cyclist Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2011-06-29 3:47 AM

Subject: Good runner, slow cyclist

I am male and started doing tri's last year about a year after I started running, I have been cycling for the last 4 years mainly during the summer, until I started doing tris. I run under 17 mins for 5k, but when it comes to cycling I am getting murdered. I have aerobars I have also got the bike fit. My bike is not expensive, more an entry level bike.

From being one of the fastest runners in the club I am slowing becoming ones of the worst cyclists. I don't do loads of cycling, but over the winter I was going for one 25 miler a week with the club and then added in a 10 mile TT or brick sessions every week when the days got longer. I have now added in more cycling to improve. What has happened this year is the people I was faster than last year who were new to cycling are alot faster than me now, and they are doing the same amount of cycling as me, actually one person who I am a bit faster at the running does less than me.

So all the males in the club are faster than me now, and I am on the same level as the females,but they have all progressed and I can see them passing me. It soo frustrating, In duathlons I can be way ahead of people in the club. Then I will get passed by 7-8 members on the bike and I will probably pass 5 on the run again.

I thought being a fast enough runner would transfer onto the bike, though obviously not. I am thinking now that my legs are just skinny runner legs and that I just don't have the genetics for cycling

2011-06-29 4:02 AM
in reply to: #3572232

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada
Subject: RE: Good runner, slow cyclist
philips - 2011-06-29 5:47 AM