General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-06-14 9:48 AM

Subject: Ironman Training
Anyone else doing Ironman Chattanooga??

I started training for this Ironman, which will be my first full, in December but really kicked it up a notch in the last month or so. I was a competitive swimmer for 15 years so biking and running are the most important disciplines for me to work on. I swim with a Masters group at Lifetime but generally bike and run on my own. I thought it would be nice to start running and biking with a group so if anyone is close to the Royal Oak/Troy area and wants to start training together, let me know!

Lauren

2016-06-17 6:37 AM
in reply to: Lkalinosky

User image

Veteran
Berkley
Subject: RE: Ironman Training
Hi Lauren,

I'm in Berkley and racing at IM Louisville (Oct). I do most of my swimming at Berkley High School, although I'm looking for a swim place since they are renovating their pool over the summer, I may swim at Royal Oak Middle School. I typically train on my bike trainer since the roads here are pretty crappy, but I do hit up Island Lake a few times a month for good open water/bike/run training.

Update - Swam at Royal Oak Middle School for their lap swim and their pool is amazing!
2016-06-20 7:54 AM
in reply to: deboerkj

I will have to try RO middle school out. I'm assuming you are just swimming on your own during open swim hours?
I can totally back you up on the roads around here...thought it would be smart to get outside last week for the first time in a while (I also prefer my indoor trainer) and within the first 6 miles, I got caught in a pothole and had a flat. Not pleasant at all.
2016-06-23 7:35 AM
in reply to: Lkalinosky

User image

Veteran
Berkley