General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How to learn to swim in a crowded lap pool? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-04-08 10:42 PM

User image

Regular
Oregon
Subject: How to learn to swim in a crowded lap pool?

How am I supposed to ever learn the proper techniques, run drills, use equipment etc when the pool is always so crowded and every lap swimmer in it just seems to swim fast and non-stop and they circle swim 2-3 people per lane?

I am a total novice adult beginner and I swim 3:20 per 100m on a good day.  It just seems impossible to get a full workout in.  Many of my "beginner" workouts call for 20-40 seconds rest at the wall between sets.  How do the rest of you do this? It is so humiliating and frustrating and terrifying at the same time.  

It also makes me mad because I pay the same amount of money as the rest of them (or maybe more, because I pay for lessons too, and this is my "homework").  Don't get me wrong, I have respect and deference to the veteran swimmers and I know they deserve to get THEIR workouts done too...it just seems like the deck is stacked against adult beginners...

2013-04-08 11:45 PM
in reply to: #4692462

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
Subject: RE: How to learn to swim in a crowded lap pool?
themissj1981 - 2013-04-08 9:42 PM

How am I supposed to ever learn the proper techniques, run drills, use equipment etc when the pool is always so crowded and every lap swimmer in it just seems to swim fast and non-stop and they circle swim 2-3 people per lane?

I am a total novice adult beginner and I swim 3:20 per 100m on a good day.  It just seems impossible to get a full workout in.  Many of my "beginner" workouts call for 20-40 seconds rest at the wall between sets.  How do the rest of you do this? It is so humiliating and frustrating and terrifying at the same time.