General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Are Sprint Races Scoffed at in the Triathlon Community? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2014-09-05 12:37 AM

User image

Subject: Are Sprint Races Scoffed at in the Triathlon Community?
Hi guys,

Go easy on me sweet trolls, I'm new. Hahaha. So, this is my first year doing Triathlon. I've completed 4 races so far, all sprint.

I just wanted to ask all of you fine competitors, is a Sprint distance lame? Do you think it's just for newbies? Is my personal race success the equivalent of a kid just learning how to tie his shoes? Hahaha. Or is it something to be truly proud of?

I think, I just want a gauge because I've been doing well in sprint and enjoy it! Who doesn't like winning!? But I wonder if it's going well for me because most other competitors are brand new... I might make a sooner jump to Olympic to test myself some more I guess. But my biggest goal is to compete at USAT nationals next year and I know they do Sprint, but I dunno which to focus on. Sprint or Olympic.

Edited by rizztalah 2014-09-05 12:57 AM

2014-09-05 12:56 AM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: Are Sprint Races Scoffed at in the Triathlon Community?
Originally posted by rizztalah

I just wanted to ask all of you fine competitors, is a Sprint distance lame?

Not at all. Most guys I know that focus on 70.3s or IMs do sprints. In some ways they are harder than a 70.3, because it's an hour of literally going flat out. My goal this summer (Australian summer) is to podium in a sprint, in order to do that I will have to be going hard, much harder than I would in a 70.3, I will probably be more nervous at the start of the sprints than the 70.3s just because of the pain factor. So no, sprint distances aren't lame. What is lame is when you're good enough to do the pursuit sprints, but still do the enticers!

Edited by zedzded 2014-09-05 12:59 AM
2014-09-05 12:56 AM
in reply to: rizztalah

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven