Lums Pond - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Bear, Delaware
United States
Piranha Sports
80F / 27C
Total Time = 8h 05m
Overall Rank = 397/408
Age Group = Clydesdale
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Just relaxed with my family the night before. Woke up at about 5:00 a.m., had a bowl of multigrain cherrios, a banana and some gatorade. This was my first race, so I don't really have routine.
Event warmup:

My event warmup basically consisted of some light stretching and pacing around nervously as I waited for the race to start.
  • 30m
  • 880 yards
  • 03m 25s / 100 yards

Granted, this was my first open water .5 mile swim, but it felt longer than the same distance in a pool.
What would you do differently?:

I was deceived by the look of the distance so I was a little gunshy. I should have been more aggressive and trusted the fact that I was well trained and could handle pushing the pace a bit more.
Transition 1
  • 04m 37s

I just took way too long getting myself together. My transition area was crowded, and there were too many things for me to do (i.e. bandana, gloves, sunglasses, mesh shorts) which were not entirely necessary.
What would you do differently?:

I will likely lose the bandana, mesh shorts and the gloves as they are not necessary. This should help cut down on the time, and the clutter in transition. Also, may experiment with biking and running without socks.
  • 1h 26m 22s
  • 19.5 miles
  • 13.55 mile/hr

The ride was definitely more difficult than I anticipated, but that is likely due to my lack of actual rode time. Disappointed that the roads were so bad, but you can't help construction.
What would you do differently?:

I will do substantially more time on the open road in preparation for my future tris.
Transition 2
  • 03m 45s

Again, just took way too long. Due to when I finished, there were a lot of people who were clearing out of transition so it was really crowded. Plus, I went down the wrong set of racks with my bike, which didn't help
What would you do differently?:

I will do a better job of scouting out my rack location so I can be more direct. Also, will look into getting ride of the laces in my sneakers in favor of a quicker solution.
  • 36m 26s
  • 3 miles
  • 12m 08s  min/mile

I thought the run went reasonably well. Kept moving the entire time, but probably could have picked up with pace a bit.
What would you do differently?:

I need to do more brick workouts in training to get more of a feel for running with tired legs. Also, need to incorporate some speed work into future training.
Post race
Warm down:

Unfortunately, I didn't really do much of a warm down. I was kind of spacey, and my family was having a little lunch thing back at my in laws house. After getting there, I swam for about 10 minutes to kind of cool down. Then, about 3 hours after finishing I jumped in a hot tub. This really helped, and took almost all of the pain out of my legs.

What limited your ability to perform faster:

Bottom line is my weight limited my ability to go faster. I'm down about 30 pounds since I decided to do this, but still have a lot more to go. Plus, there was a lack of speed work in my training. Now that I have the confidence that I can do the distances, I will work on speed.

Event comments:

I was very impressed with the logistics of how the race was run.

Last updated: 2010-02-28 12:00 AM
00:30:00 | 880 yards | 03m 25s / 100yards
Age Group: 0/
Overall: 342/408
Performance: Below average
Suit: Not permitted
Start type: Wade Plus: Waves
Water temp: 80F / 27C Current: Low
200M Perf. Good Remainder: Average
Breathing: Good Drafting: Below average
Waves: Navigation: Good
Rounding: Average
Time: 04:37
Cap removal: Good Helmet on/
Suit off:
Wetsuit stuck? Run with bike: No
Jump on bike: No
Getting up to speed:
01:26:22 | 19.5 miles | 13.55 mile/hr
Age Group: 0/
Overall: 399/408
Performance: Average
Wind: Some
Course: There were some really torn up sections of the bike course. I don't think I handled it too badly for only being my second substantial ride out on the rode. Due to work, and a newborn son, I was forced to do most of my rides on my indoor trainer.
Road: Rough Dry Cadence:
Turns: Average Cornering:
Gear changes: Below average Hills: Below average
Race pace: Comfortable Drinks: Just right
Time: 03:45
Overall: Bad
Riding w/ feet on shoes
Jumping off bike
Running with bike Below average
Racking bike Average
Shoe and helmet removal Below average
00:36:26 | 03 miles | 12m 08s  min/mile
Age Group: 0/
Overall: 395/408
Performance: Good
Course: An out and back course with mostly paved paths, but some off road.
Keeping cool Good Drinking Just right
Post race
Weight change: %
Overall: Below average
Mental exertion [1-5] 4
Physical exertion [1-5] 3
Good race? Ok
Course challenge Just right
Organized? Yes
Events on-time? Yes
Lots of volunteers? Yes
Plenty of drinks? Yes
Post race activities: Good
Race evaluation [1-5] 5