BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Trizee's mentor group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2008-12-21 9:11 PM

User image

Upstate NY
Subject: Trizee's mentor group - CLOSED
Trizee - Mike

I am a HS teacher and assist my wife with her dental practice. Have 2 grown children and 1 at home. If not working at one job, running to a game or practice, I'm training. I've always considered myself an athlete (playng the usual throug HS) and coaching football, baseball & basketball for many, many years at various levels. Most every athletic activity was team based. Living in the Lake Placid area and volunteering at IMLP for 5 years and being intrigued by it each year, I finally decided to get it a Tri! Also, i have never been heavy (always called thin) but my pants were getting tighter and after a size upgrade I refused to go up any higher. So I started jogging to drop a few pounds, vol. @ IMLP again and so it started. I have completed IMLP 3 times (2006-08) and am going back in '09. Total addicted to training and doing races. I am not in the top of my age group, but I enjoy it, am improving each time (cut 1:45 from 06 to 07 in IMLP) and tell everyone who asks me about it that they can do it and I'll get them to the finish line. Got my wife there this year (IMLP) and will be getting my son across this year (09).

Currently I'm putting in about 6-8 hours a week. Trying to improve my swimmng and core strength. I follow Don Fink's "Becoming IronFit" 30 week program. That will be starting 12/30.

In 2008 I completed IMLP, Tupper Lake Tinman (sprint), Half Vermont Journey (1/2 iron)Lake George Tri, local Y tri and many mini races held in Lake Placid over the summer.

'09 - IMLP, will be adding at least 2-3 olympic distance, a half iron and a few local mini races. Tend to get in 8-10 races a year.