Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 9

2012-04-02 6:43 PM

User image

Expert
Charlottesville, VA
Subject: Ken Nail's Group -- Closed
Hi folks!

My name is Ken. This will be my 8th season of triathlon competition, but I can still remember what a help BT was to me when I was a beginner, full of questions. I've raced at all the distances up through 1/2 IM, and I'll be doing my first IM at Wisconsin in September. I've enjoyed my time training and racing, and hope to give back to the tri community by helping those with less experience.

If you'd like to see a little more of my racing experience, check out my Athlinks profile here: http://athlinks.com/racer/results/35200874

Here's a little bit more about me:

WHEN CAN YOU START MENTORING CONSISTENTLY: I'm ready to start when you are!

FAMILY STATUS: I'm a married 53 year old with a son heading off to college this year.

CURRENT TRAINING: About 10-12 hours a week right now (March/April), ramping up to IM training over the summer.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: First race (International distance) on April 14th. Probably about 6 races with Ironman Wisconsin the definite "A" race!

WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I remember being a beginner, with lots of questions -- having a steady hand to answer them makes a difference. You'll find me ready to help pass along consistent and reasonable advice that takes into account where you are in your tri career.

Edited by kenail 2012-04-10 10:58 AM

2012-04-04 7:03 PM
in reply to: #4125768

User image

Veteran
Central VA
Subject: RE: Ken Nail's Group -- Open
Hey all.

Name: pvfd304/Brian

STORY: Three years ago, my daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. That lit the fire in my belly to change my lifestyle and try to provide a positive example on how to live a life that includes physical exercise. I began biking and completely changed my diet. Lost 50 pounds. Entered a local 5K last year for the first time and thought "hey, I think I can do a tri"