BT Development Mentor Program Archives » KVesey's Group - WORKING HARD Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 11

2009-04-10 4:30 PM

User image

Expert
Madison, MS
Subject: KVesey's Group - WORKING HARD

NAME: kvesey / Karen

STORY: I have been an athlete all of my life. I had no choice. My dad was a Marine, so I was doing pushups when I was three . Up until 5 years ago, I was primarily a runner. With my coach's encouragement, I started training for triathlons and quickly became addicted to my new sport. I am mostly a mid-pack racer, and I have done several Olympic and sprint distance races, as well as three Half Ironman races and my first Ironman at IMFL last year. Finishing Ironman was one of the biggest days of my life.

FAMILY STATUS: Married for over 20 years. No children, except we treat our dog and cats like our kids.

CURRENT TRAINING: In general, I train on my own because of my schedule. But I will meet up with friends on the weekend for long bike rides. I have worked with a coach for several years, and I rely on her to keep my training sane. I work out most days of the week and try to average 3-5 runs a week, 2-3 bikes a week, and 2 swims a week. It depends on what I'm focusing on at any given point. I also throw in some core work and yoga.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: Last year was all about the Ironman. Since then, and after basking in my own personal glory , I have done a couple of running races, including the Disney Princess Half Marathon. My "off season" focus has been on running and building back some speed. (Ironman taught me to go long and slow.)

2009 RACES:  I am ramping up my 2009 season gradually. The beginning part of this year has been mainly about running, and I am planning two more half marathons to see if I can drop my time while getting stronger. The summer will start some serious Half Ironman training since I want to see if I can go under 6 hour at Ironman 70.3 Augusta. I will also do a few sprint and Olympic distance races.