BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Allison and Ryan's Beginner Mentor Group - FULL Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 29

2011-01-04 9:35 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Chicago
Subject: Allison and Ryan's Beginner Mentor Group - FULL
WHEN CAN YOU START MENTORING CONSISTENTLY: Now
NAME: thndrcloud/Allison
STORY: I did my first triathlon in 2009 as motivation to exercise and lose weight. Although I had been working out at the gym for 4 months before starting a 12 week training plan I only managed to lose 3lbs and was terrified to do the race. By the time I stumbled into my husband's arms at the finish line of that sprint I was in tears. I was so proud and amazed that my flabby, weak body had done something so impossible that I was hooked. Since then I've continued doing triathlon as well as running races and distance biking for charity.
FAMILY STATUS: Married with three kids who are 13, 7, and 2
CURRENT TRAINING: My fall was spent focusing on the run, December was strictly maintenance and I'm now sticking with the bike and swim while waiting for a broken toe and Achilles issue to heal up.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: In 2010 I had planned to move up to Olympic distance and possibly do a HIM in the fall, but due to a move I ended up doing a couple sprints,countless 5ks and ending my season with a late fall half marathon.
2011 RACES: Galena Triathlon - May, Diabetes Charity Century - June, Pleasant Prairie Olympic - June, Racine 70.3 - July, Chicago Olympic Triathlon - August, and ending the season with a half or possibly full marathon in the fall
WEIGHTLOSS: Since becoming a triathlete I have lost more than 30lbs and am now focusing on swapping fat for muscle without worrying about what the scale says.
WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I love triathlon and after converting every willing person I know, and being asked to stop evangelizing to those who aren't willing, I'm looking for fresh faces with whom I can share my love and addiction