Canadian Triathlon Forum British Columbia » Crazy bike accident Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2006-02-19 8:23 PM

User image

Expert
Denver
Subject: Crazy bike accident
Hey all you BC triathlete's, I had a weird bike accident yesterday where I bent my back wheel braking going down a hill. No injuries which is good but my back wheel is messed.Should I just replace it, or should I take my frame in to my LBS and make sure it is still OK? I am new to the bike thing so I am not too sure what too expect cost wise, problem wise etc... Any info would be grand.

Cheers,

Mike

Edited by browner6 2006-02-19 8:25 PM

2006-02-19 10:10 PM
in reply to: #349600

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2006-02-19 10:20 PM

Subject: RE: Crazy bike accident
Holy cow.. sorry to hear about the accident, but glad you're okay! Where did it happen?

I nearly got schmucked on Dallas road a few weeks ago, so I can sympathize. I'm actually surprised I didn't do any damage to my bike (which was only a couple of weeks old).

Probably your best bet is to ask the very question you asked us.. at the bike shop. Not sure who you deal with, but Fort Street Cycle is very good and they won't nickel and dime you. I know that you can easily spend at least a couple hundred on a new wheelset (and some spend thousands)... so if that's not in your budget (or isn't worth it on your existing bike), then try to get it repaired if possible.
2006-02-19 11:26 PM

Expert
Denver
Thanks for the replies you guys, I honestly don't know how I bent the wheel??? Weird. I was out behind VGH in the highlands area, usually I do bike down by Dallas rd, although I thought I would change it up for once!!! Guess that was a bad idea... Thanks for the info on Fort Street cycle, I have heard good things about them, usually I go to Oak Bay bikes, but I will check out Fort Street and see how it is. Thanks again,

Cheers,

Mike
2006-02-24 8:44 PM

Regular
Victoria,BC