BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Mike's group closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 10

2008-12-16 12:37 PM

User image

Expert
oregon ave,
Subject: Mike's group closed

My user name is Mikep, my first name is Mike.  I am from Erie, Pennsylvania and I am 39 years old and I am a full time school teacher.  I have been married for nine years and we have two children, ages five and three.  This is my third year training and competing in triathlons.  A friend of mine did the Escape From Alcatraz a few years ago and the more I talked to him about it, the more I wanted to try doing one myself. I have completed 5 triathlons in the past two years. Three races were sprint, one was an olympic and one was a half ironman.  Right now I am on "winter maintenance" and I am focusing on keeping fit both physically and mentally.  I am also doing some strength training, working on a stronger swim, endurance on the bike and speed on the run.  For this coming summer I have four races lined up: one sprint, two olympic and one full ironman (Louisville, kentucky) distance.  My goals have always been to compete against myself and perform the best that I can.  Weight has never been an issue with me, but I have lost twenty pounds since starting and wouldn't mind loosing another 5-10 before race day.