BT Development Mentor Program Archives » crea0029/etknowles's group - CLOSED for now Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 18

2008-12-16 8:31 PM

User image

Master
Mishicot, Wisconsin
Subject: crea0029/etknowles's group - CLOSED for now
NAME: crea0029- Pam
STORY: I'm a recent college graduate from the University of Minnesota. I started training for triathlons the summer of 2005 after reading a great book called Slow Fat Triathlete. Except for my required hours in high school Phy Ed, I couldn't run a mile or even ride my bike for more than 10 minutes nor did I really want to. During the summer of 2006 after lots of long hours of training and dedication, I completed my first sprint and became instantly addicted. It became an early goal to complete an Ironman and that is where I am today. An important note I want to mention is I am not on a regular work schedule. I am a psych counselor at a hospital and work a rotating weekend/holiday schedule with switches during the week between the 7-3 and 3-11 shifts.
FAMILY STATUS: I am currently single and living with my parents after my May graduation from college.
CURRENT TRAINING: My current training until January is a build up plan for my 36 week Ironman plan. These few weeks are a schedule I made myself. I normally form my own schedule except for major races like HIM or IM. I am going to use that 36 week plan until the Ironman in September, but it will get modified as needed as my schedule changes.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: This past year I completed an indoor triathlon, quarter ironman distance triathlon, half ironman distance, several running races, and a duathlon in the fall.
2009 RACES: The main "A" goal race of the year is Ironman Wisconsin on September 13th. I have plans to do a half ironman (the same one as last year), possibly a marathon, several longer bike rides, and a few running races. The additional races will be something I decide as I see how training is going at the beginning of the year.