Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2008-12-19 5:46 PM

User image

Veteran
Denver
Subject: Mtskibum's Group - FULL

Name: mtskibum / Michael

Story: A little over 2 years ago I was fat and out of shape and finally decided to go after a dream I've had since I was a kid. I wanted to do the Ironman in Hawaii. I decided to make it my goal to race in Kona on my 40th bday. That would be my dream come true. I started training, found this site, did 2 triathlons my first year, an Xterra short course, and a Sprint tri. I got hooked! 2008 was my second season. I did an Xterra short course, an Oly, and a Half Ironman. I also ran 2 half Marathons. I also compete in a winter duathlon series. I'm on my way to doing a full Iron distance in 2010.

Family status: I'm currently engaged to be married this May/June. I have an 8 year old son.

Current training: My focus for this year is doing more long distance races so that next year I can do a full Iron distance. I'm planning my first full marathon for this year. I like data. I'm a numbers freak, but I also have found out that how you feel makes a big difference on race day. It's not always about the numbers. Consistancy is key.

This years races: Winter Duathlon in February. 2 half marathon's in May, Xterra short course in June, my first Olympic distance in July, my first Half Ironman distance in August, Winter Duathlon in December.

2009 Races: Same as last year, but I'm hoping to add another Half Ironman, and a full marathon.

Weightloss: My first year of training I lost 30 lbs. I've gained about 10 back, but it fluctuates with training and holidays. My main goal is to be strong and healthy and not just watch the scale. I'm in the best shape of my life right now and I'm 38.