BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Jackjack's group - closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 27

2009-04-10 9:52 PM

User image

Expert
Malvern, England
Subject: Jackjack's group - closed
Preferred mentees:  women who are either complete triathlon beginners or not been in the sport for very long

Important note: I am on vacation from 17th to 26th April and unlikely to have internet access (or want it as I am on a cruise)

NAME:
Jackjack (Jackie)
STORY: I'm a 41 yr old female in upstate NY (although I am British) and a recently qualified USAT Level 1 coach.  I am fairly competitive (although I don't always admit it!) and often place in my age group in local races.  Improving a previous years time is more important than what place I come though!  I did my first triathlon in the UK in 2002 as a dare at work and loved it.  A few years later, after a move with young kids to USA I started training again.  I did some shorter races and worked up to Ironman Lake Placid in 2007.  Fitness has always been my hobby and I am now working on making it my career (a change from boring old accountancy!).  I have a swim background (not fast but consistent) and now help coach a local kids swim team.  Running is my weakness so I am working on that.
FAMILY STATUS: Married with 2 kids (boys aged 9 and 11).  None of my family have any interest in triathlons (other than saying that they support me of course!)
CURRENT TRAINING:  I train by feel more and more and am not particularly technical.   I'd have to go and count the teeth if I wanted to know what gear ration my bike had.  I do use my Garmin for run pace and HRM for tempo training on the bike sometimes.   My philosophy is BALANCE in all aspects of life and consistency is more important than big training hours for a week here and there.  I am having fun with shorter distance races and train an average of 5-8 hours a week. Hopefully more when I can ride outside consistently as I HATE the indoor trainer.