BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Stef's Peer-Support Group - FULL Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2009-04-14 1:41 PM

User image

Master
Southern Ontario
Subject: Stef's Peer-Support Group - FULL
NAME: Silver_wlf - Stef

STORY: I am currently an elementary teacher. I haven't raced triathlon since 2002 when I started my new career. I got into triathlon because I was originally a swimmer, and honestly I was getting frustrated that my times weren't improving in my racing. Some of the guys on the swim team were triathletes (and I thought they were crazy) but I decided that running is good for me, and I like to bike so "Why not?". I bought a bike and away I went. My bike training was riding to work, and I ran a little (3-4k) so I did 7 sprint tris over the course of 3 years. I flew by the seat of my pants and relied on luck to carry me through.I moved back home to start a new career and my training stalled. I still ran, but with no swim team to train with triathlon all sort of fell apart. My bike sat in my shed, and my swimming stuff in the basement.

Last year I started biking to work again. Partly because of gas prices, partly because I was worried about the Polar Bears. I'm into my second winter of "Saving the polar bears" and my brother is my partner for some long rides.I struggled with clinical depression this past summer and the only thing I could manage to do was swim. So I bought myself a membership to the local fitness club and swam every day. As I slowly pulled myself out I noticed how much my general fitness improved. I ran the 10k in Niagara Falls in October and placed 5th in my age group.

FAMILY STATUS: I've been separated for almost two years. I live with my lab-x and my Doberman Pinscher.