BT Development Mentor Program Archives » ultrahip_00's Mentor Group - CLOSED - Let's hit the road/water! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 15

2009-12-14 10:40 PM

User image

Master
Kirkland, WA
Subject: ultrahip_00's Mentor Group - CLOSED - Let's hit the road/water!

NAME: ultrahip_00  - Mike

STORY: I am a 23 year old who has been doing triathlons for about 2.5 years.  I graduated college in May 2008, and work as a Sales Engineer in the Seattle Area.  I am from Idaho, and went to school out there.  I got started in Tri's by living with a guy who was doing IM-CDA while I was doing an internship and I decided to give it a shot!  My parents have always been active w/biking and backpacking and stuff, so it wasn't too far of a stretch for me to get started.  I signed up for my first triathlon and completed it about 2 months after i started training!  Since then, i have done a bunch of races, including 3 OLY's, 2 HIM's, 3 1/2 marathons and 1 marathon. 

FAMILY STATUS: Single 

CURRENT TRAINING: This year was the first year I worked with a coach.  I was coached from about April - August, and that took me through the two HIM's.  After doing Lake Steven's 70.3, I got off the wagon for about a month, and then decided to pic my running back up.  I started training for Seattle Marathon, and completed that on 11/29.  It was my first marathon!

2010 RACES:  I am still getting this all figured out.  I have a couple short term goals, that i will be shooting for in spring 2010:  Sub 1:25 half marathon  and sub 3:10 marathon.  I will likely do a handful of sprints and OLY's this summer, and probably one half ironman.  

WEIGHTLOSS: During my first couple years, i have lost about 20 lbs - that would be weight gained in college via beer and food   I didn't focus on weight loss too much, just tried to eat healthy and workout!.