General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Work, Family, & ... Triathlons? Musings About the Squeeze of it All. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2010-08-25 7:57 AM

User image

Veteran
Manalapan (Central New Jersey)
Subject: Work, Family, & ... Triathlons? Musings About the Squeeze of it All.
Greetings All,

I am a beginner Triathlete.  Why, when I say that does it sound like the beginnings of some therapy session?   Truth be told, it may just be.  I have seriously caught the Triathlon Bug.  And it could not have happened at a worse time!  My wife and I are expecting our second child, a baby girl, one week from today.  We are so very happy and excited (we have a 3 year old son) about her arrival.  With this excitement, however, comes a little sense of (selfish?) sadness.  The sadness of not having enough hours in the day to do all that I want.  I ran my first Triathlon this July.  Quickly signed up for another in August.  Have two more on the schedule for September and October.  And through it all am trying feverishly to find time to train and time to gel with my rapidly expanding family.

Of course, this is nothing new.  Athletes (even the slow pudgy kind) have been trying to juggle these pressures for as long as organized sports have been around.  I wanted to share and hopefully hear from you all about your experiences balancing these very important areas of your own life.