BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Deb's Group FULL Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 6

2011-01-03 8:36 PM

Veteran
Subject: Deb's Group FULL

WHEN CAN YOU START MENTORING CONSISTENTLY: Immediately
NAME: sheesleeva / Deb
STORY: I am a 40 year old professional woman, volunteer in my community, and play team sports - basketball, soccer and softball.  The team sports are fun, triathlon is the most rewarding.  I learned to swim as an adult and was rather obese at 20.  I triathlon to challenge myself, to stay healthy, and to pat myself on the back. 
FAMILY STATUS: Single 
CURRENT TRAINING: Generally run on my own, 1/2 and 1/2 training with someone else on the bike. 
THIS YEAR'S RACES: I finished my first 70.3 last summer,   
2011 RACES:  I am doing two 70.3s this year and a full iron in November.
WEIGHTLOSS: I would like to lose 8-10 pounds this year
WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: Having started doing tris two years ago, the questions of a newbie are still fresh in my head.  I also remember the nervousness of my first sprint and the difficulty of a 70.3.  My first tri I only did one leg of it on a mt. bike. I have suffered the angst of having been DQ'ed from a race because of a race organizers mistake mis-timing the swim and dq'ing 600 of us, and then my next attempt choosing on my own to throw in the towel because I paniked on the swim, but one month later I did complete the 70.3 with a swim time under an hour -- in other words, I have felt the frustration of someone else's mistake and mental defeat in three months, but was able to overcome the self talk and crush by my standards one month later.   I good mentor will know how to encourage, emphathize with the self doubt, defeats and injuries, and talk people to the start line -- hopefully being in their head during the race too.