General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wetsuit vs. trisuit Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-02-18 2:56 PM

New user

Subject: Wetsuit vs. trisuit
I am a newbie to the sport, and plan on running my first tri this July. I'm trying to buy some gear that won't cost me an arm and a leg, and will be the most comfortable. My first tri will be in an indoor pool, but I expect I will do some in the great outdoors at some point.

Do I need to buy both a trisuit and a wetsuit? Couldn't the tri suit suffice in most situations?

Thanks in advance
Aretesys (pronounced r-uh-tay-sis)

2008-02-18 3:06 PM
in reply to: #1218750

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Wetsuit vs. trisuit

What a beautiful name!

Welcome to BT and the wild world of tri.

For your first season, as long as the water temps you're swimming in aren't that cold, a tri suit is more than sufficient. Definitely wait until after your first tri or even a few to see if you REALLY need a wetsuit.

Good luck!

2008-02-18 5:29 PM

User image

Master
I agree that in a pool you are fine with a trisuit. However, as you move to open water swims you may want to consider a wetsuit. A wetsuit not only keeps you warm in cooler water it also adds buoyancy. This will keep your body higher in the water and therefore you will create less drag and use less energy. It will also act as a "life preserver" if you get into trouble.

Good luck!
2008-02-19 7:01 AM

User image

Master
Centennial, CO

A trisuit is definitely needed (or shorts and singlet).  The wetsuit will depend on a couple of things.  1.  How comfortable you are in open water.  2.  Temp of water.  3.  How strong of a swimmer you are. 

I never would have even tried swimming in a lake without a wetsuit.  I had already finished my several tris (3, all pool swims).  If you are at all concerned about open water swimming, get a wetsuit.  Plus as been said, they will almost always make you faster.

2008-02-19 9:34 AM

User image

Veteran
Golden, CO