General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming Endurance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-02-07 10:53 PM

Subject: Swimming Endurance
Hello All,

This is my first ever post. I am new to multi-sport, but am very enthused. I have recently started taining for my first tri; the Race for Sight, in Columbia, Missouri.

I feel very comfortable with running and biking, and I have made great strides in each over the past year. I have a good endurance base, and thought swimming would be a snap - but it is not! I have been training twice a week for the past 2 months, and progress has been very slow.

I have no formal training, but have read a few books, and have done research on this website, and others, on executing the proper free-style swim stroke.

During each workout, I warm up with 50 meters, and then swim as far as I can without stopping. I have plateau'ed at 150 meters - that is all I can do without stopping. Then, after that, I just do 50's, over and over, with some rest between each one. I can't get past the 150 meter mark, and my tri requires a 300 meter swim! I am a bit discouraged, and would love some advice.

I realize that I should get some proper instruction - but other than that, any ideas for improving my endurance in the pool? I don't even care about doing it fast, at this point, I just want to do it!

Thanks for your time.

2005-02-07 10:59 PM
in reply to: #114186

User image

Veteran
Pittsburgh, PA
Subject: RE: Swimming Endurance
Iam a first timer too and I had the same problem at first. Iam no expert...not even close...but it seemed as soon as I got my breathing down everything got easier. Exhaling seemed key.

Good luck with everything
2005-02-07 11:05 PM

User image

Regular
St. Louis, Mo.