BT Development New Products and Sales! » TIMBERMAN™ IRONMAN 70.3 TRIATHLON 2009 Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-11 4:09 PM

For immediate release: Contact:
August 11, 2009 Claire Jordan


Gilford, NH- Now in its ninth year, the Timberman™ Ironman 70.3 has always hosted legendary pros, like Chrissie Wellington, Simon Lessing, Peter Reid, Lori Bowden and Karen Smyers, because of its beautiful, challenging course and choice pre-Kona timing. This year the Timberman™ Ironman 70.3 field is both stellar and deep, enticing pros with a $25,000 prize purse and a world-class race experience. Race Director Keith Jordan says the prize money is in keeping with other Ironman 70.3 events, “Timberman™ has always been attractive to pros - they love the race and they really want to come, but I understand they have to make a living, too.” Overall male and female winners will each receive $6,000, followed by $3,000 for second, $2,000 for third, $1000 for fourth, and $500 for fifth place.

Returning to defend their titles are former US Olympian Andy Potts, who won the Ironman World Championship 70.3 in 2007, and two-time defending Ironman World Champion, Great Britain’s Chrissie Wellington. Potts was named USA Triathlon’s “Triathlete of the Year” in 2006 and 2007. Great Britain’s Chrissie Wellington stormed onto the triathlon scene in 2007, winning the Ironman World Championship in Kona, Hawaii. She successfully defended the title in 2008. In 2009 Chrissie has already set the Women’s World Record for Iron-distance races at the Quelle Challenge in Roth, Germany.

Many pro triathletes from years past are returning to Timberman in 2009. Loyal pro and 3-time Ironman winner Michael Lovato, who has placed in the top five at Timberman™70.3 the last five years and recently won Ironman 70.3 Providence, will once again battle last year’s runner up, Scotland’s Fraser Cartmell. Also returning to the men’s race is 2006 winner and cycling phenomenon Bjorn Andersson of Sweden, as well as multiple Ironman and Ironman 70.3 winner Australian Chris Legh, who won Timberman Ironman 70.3 in 2004. Joining them will be Australian Simon Thompson and American TJ Tollakson, who recently finished second at Ironman Coeur D’Alene. In the women’s event, Australia’s Kate Major is set to return after an injury-marred 2008 campaign. Joining her are 2008 runner-up Amanda Stevens and Ironman 70.3 St Croix winner Catriona Morrison. Major has placed second at Timberman twice, while winning the 2008 Ironman 70.3 Boise, finishing second at Ironman Coeur D’Alene in 2009, and finishing third at the Ironman World Championships in 2007. Also returning is 2007 Timberman third place winner Dede Griesbauer.

Timberman™ Ironman 70.3 is a qualifier for the Foster Grant Ironman World Championship 70.3 in Clearwater, Florida. The 2009 Timberman™ Ironman 70.3 is set for August 23rd in Gilford, New Hampshire. With a maximum capacity of 2,500 athletes, the race filled in less than 2 months. Registration for the 2010 event opens October 1, 2009, and is expected to fill within a couple of weeks.

Edited by KEJ 2009-08-11 4:10 PM
New Thread
BT Development New Products and Sales! » TIMBERMAN™ IRONMAN 70.3 TRIATHLON 2009 Rss Feed