General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Sprint Tri (Lake Lanier)- Need Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-18 10:23 AM

Subject: First Sprint Tri (Lake Lanier)- Need Advice
I plan on doing the Lake Lanier Sprint Tri on October 4th. Im on a mega limited budget of $500-$600 tops.

I basically do not have anything but my old running shoes that are due for an upgrede and I don't have a bike yet.

I figure I'll need new shoes, a bike, helmet, and maybe some tri shorts? Do you need to wear a top or can you go shirtless/topless (for a guy!)?

I plan on going to fleet feet to get the right fitting running shoes.

The bike, I was hoping to find something on craigs list but its hard to find the right fit and priced bike. So I was thinking of Bikesdirect?

I wan't to finish competativly because I am very competative so I don't want to have to use my brother in laws MTB and get blown away on the bike portion...but if i have to I will! =/

Sorry for the total noob first post! and thanks!

2009-08-18 10:29 AM
in reply to: #2355501

User image

Subject: RE: First Sprint Tri (Lake Lanier)- Need Advice
Have you considered renting a bike? A friend of mine flew down from VT for the IronGirl Tri and rented a SWEET bike from Roswell bikes for the weekend. Sure, you won't have your own to train on, but it could be a feasible idea if you want to be competitive. You could rent the same bike out for a small training run, or call them up and test it out before you commit.

Finding a bike on craigslist is hard - especially if you are not looking for a mtn bike. I'm assuming you have asked around to borrow friends bikes. Who knows though, Ebay or BikesDirect may have something... Of course this time of year you may be able to find a deal at your LBS. Another friend of mine got a sweet deal on hers at Performance Bike.

Keep checking around... and good luck!

2009-08-18 10:50 AM

User image

Master
Alpharetta, GA