Uphill Productions
77F / 25C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 22m 8s
Overall Rank = 19/48
Age Group = 35-39 Male
Age Group Rank = 4/9
Pre-race routine:

We pre-rode the bike course the day before the race. My background is bike racing - primarilly mountain bike racing - and this event was an off-road triathlon. I'd ridden this trail a couple of times before, but the course was being run in reverse of the normal direction. The trail wasn't technical, but was very rocky and rough, and had a lot of really tight, slow sections. It's the kind of course that you can put out a whole lot of energy and not really go all that much faster than just taking it relatively easy. I decided at that point to just ride smooth and comfortably on the bike and come into the run as fresh as possible.

We got to the venue around 7:00 am with plenty of time to set up. Quite a few folks I knew were doing the event, so I spent a lot of time talking and catching up with folks. Put on my wetsuit and googles and got into the water just in time to be called back out of the water for the start.

Event warmup:

Not much. I did a bit of stretching. I planned to use the swim as a warmup for the bike.
Swim
  • 34m 12s
  • 1500 meters
  • 02m 17s / 100 meters
Comments: