General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Former competitive swimmer trying something new Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-05-11 1:26 AM

Subject: Former competitive swimmer trying something new
       Hi everyone!  I am signed-up for my first sprint triathlon (pool swim) in early June, and another open-water sprint triathlon in mid August.  I used to swim year-round in high school, so the swimming leg should go somewhat smoothly.  I have also run numerous 5K's, 10'K's, 10 milers and marathons.  When it comes to cycling, I am brand new to the competition circuit, let alone riding on a regular basis.  Therefore, putting all three disciplines together will be a great challenge!  

Due to my work schedule (night shift), I have been training solo.  Although, I would much prefer to train with other newbie triathletes; particularly for T2 brick sessions.  I live in Reston, Va, and I am aware that my area has a well-known triathlete club (RATS-Reston Area Triathletes).  However, I am wary of becoming a member since I have yet to complete a triathlon.  I have heard that triathlons are very addictive (not to mention, expensive!), but until I get a few under my belt, I don't want to jump into the "Tri" lifestyle with two feet.  

I was wondering if any other Tri newbies decided to join a Tri Club right from the start, or if you decided to hold off until you had finished a few races.  Anyways, best of luck to everyone in their Tri training and races!

Sara 

2010-05-11 7:28 AM
in reply to: #2850339

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2010-05-11 10:50 AM
in reply to: #2850339

Extreme Veteran
metro DC
Subject: RE: Former competitive swimmer trying something new