UK Triathlon Forum Scotland » Newbie from Glasgow Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2010-05-25 8:10 AM

Subject: Newbie from Glasgow
Hi guys, I am a newbie and keen to give my first tri a go, wondering what the best option is? I see there are a couple in Scotland (Ayr, Stirling etc) coming up but still not sure I can cope with the swim... I could if it was breast but I am not sure I can do 750m crawl constantly... anyone else out there keen but scared to get stuck in?

2010-05-25 3:19 PM
in reply to: #2880151

Veteran
Kirkcaldy
Subject: RE: Newbie from Glasgow
Hi Try chick I suppose the vast majority of folks on here have the same prob. 
I started tri trg 1 June 2009 hoping to do a half ironman this year but the improvement in my swimming just didnt meet my expectations. 
In the mean time I did duathlons, sportives and running races. 
The improvement is coming slow but sure I have adjusted my racing plans accordingly and am looking at a try a tri and a sprint this year and with another good winters worth of swimming a half ironman next year. 
Both the tri's are pool swims and if I feel in trouble I will do a length or so of BS.
2010-05-26 10:38 PM

I've just completed my first couple of sprint tris this year, and breaststroked a good proportion of them. I only do front crawl in the pool, but I found it took me some time to get comfortable in open water so I had to improvise a bit! If you are planning on doing an open water race, I would definitely recommend practicing in open water before the race.