ChangeofPace
85F / 29C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 19m 6s
Overall Rank = 318/354
Age Group = 40-44
Age Group Rank = 23/26
Pre-race routine:

breakfast of branflakes, milk, toast and a banana, lots of cytomax. met the girls at the lake, got transition area set up.
Event warmup:

10 min run, some stretching.
Swim
  • 11m 8s
  • 400 yards
  • 02m 45s / 100 yards
Comments:

went out to the right and towards the back since i'm a newbie, but everyone else was there too, so there was a cluster of people there. got hit, scratched, but women are so nice! I heard alot of " I'm sorry!, excuse me!" swam like crazy to the first bouy, then lost my breath as my pace kept getting disrupted from all the bumping into. i can't believe i did it as fast as i did.
What would you do differently?:

in a short swim such as this, i'll start either in the middle or on the inside, closer to the front. Next time I am going to make it a point to swim a bit prior to the race. I was anxious and full of adrenaline, which initially helped, but I quickly burned out when I ran out of air. Need to start slowly.
Transition 1
  • 04m 6s
Comments:

had to run a short distance into transition to the bike, mine was at the end of the transition site, tried to stand up and put my bike shoes on, got dizzy, sat down and felt better. wet suit came off pretty quickly. overall pretty happy with this first T1

sit down immediately and put my shoes on.
Bike
  • 38m 31s
  • 6 miles
  • 9.35 mile/hr
Comments:

Started climbing fairly quickly, 3 miles up, total of 1200 feet elevation gain. This is my favorite hill ride so I was in my groove :) Did it 10 min faster than I normally do. Past a 54 yr old women riding her mtn bike, she was impressive!

Not a thing
Transition 2
  • 01m 27s
Comments:

Drank cytomax, ate 1/2 gel. Moved quickly in this transition, I was happy with this time. All the bricks and practice tris/transitions really paid off

Nothing
Run
  • 23m 58s
  • 2 miles
  • 11m 59s  min/mile
Comments: