General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strength Training for Beginner - Use CrossFit? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-12-28 1:39 PM

User image

Veteran
New York
Subject: Strength Training for Beginner - Use CrossFit?
Hello,
  I am new to triathlons with 3 sprints planned for 2011 spring/summer.  I have limited number of hours for training per week.  I am wondering what to do with the strength training aspect of training.   There is a crossfit gym/class not far from my office.  I have signed up to use the Couch to Sprint program and there are days built in for strength training.  Would it be beneficial to use the Cross Fit program for this aspect of my training?  I haven't done any crossfit training before and it would cut into my standard triathlon program because the beginner program for the CrossFit gym requires 3 days a week for the first month.  Just not sure what to do, I think my focus needs to be on endurance in the Swim and Run but think that strength training is important as well.

Any advice in this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Alex 

2010-12-28 3:25 PM
in reply to: #3264693

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2010-12-29 4:17 PM
in reply to: #3264920

Pro
CyFair
Subject: RE: Strength Training for Beginner - Use CrossFit?
wgraves7582 - 2010-12-28 3:25 PM Alex,

I would stick with S/B/R personally.  I enjoy strength training, and enjoy CrossFit, but CrossFit IMHO is not for a Couch to fitness level person.  If you had some background in strength training and had the extra time I would say go for it.

You were right with the focus on Swim and Run and throw some bike in there as well and you will be golden!

I'd agree with this.   You could also look at a program like "Starting Strength"
2010-12-31 11:36 AM

astorm65 - 2010-12-28 2:39 PM Hello,