General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I'm new, looking for beginning-intermediate training buddies in Boston area! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-02-21 2:49 PM

Subject: I'm new, looking for beginning-intermediate training buddies in Boston area!
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the wonderful world of Triathlons and wanted to say hello.  I'm hoping to do the Urban Epic in August, and maybe one or two other time trials/indoor sprints before then.  I have always been fairly good at endurance sports, especially swimming, but really want to experience a triathlon and make sure I get the proper training.  I'm a pretty good runner but not as motivated to go out on long runs   As far as biking goes, I commute via bike in the spring/summer/fall, but have never done a road race.  I currently have a full-sized Dahon, so not necessarily a great bike for racing.

I've already looked over some of the sample workouts. They look really helpful, but I'm wondering if they might be too "easy" for someone who works out regularly?  What are your thoughts?

If anyone is from the Boston area and in a similar boat, I'd love to meet up!  I'm a member of Commonwealth Sports Club (the gym), which has a pool, and have some guest passes to use up on a potential training buddy or two.  Any advice on general training, equipment, etc. is much appreciated too...thanks!!

Yifan

2011-02-22 10:25 AM
in reply to: #3365573

Subject: RE: I'm new, looking for beginning-intermediate training buddies in Boston area!
Hi, I'm in almost the exact same position.  I was a swimmer years ago and that is ofcourse is the best aspect of my triathathlon.  I started on the couch to Sprint workout schedule to get me moving. Most of the working out I had done before was weight lifting.  I've since modified the workout to fit my level of fitness.  I can email you my workouts if you want.  Contact me at Joshua.E.Taylor@uscg
2011-02-26 9:58 AM

User image

Leominster