General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swim video..critique please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-04-25 9:49 PM

User image

Veteran
Boise, ID
Subject: swim video..critique please

Yes, this is another swim critique. The videos are 3 weeks old and I believe I have improved my "head up when breathing", "crossong over", and "more streamlined legs" for starters. I cannot do a masters class and will not be able to take lessons/get a coach until next winter. Thanks in advance...I know there is a lot to work on...I can take the heat!!!

Also, this is my first time trying to post a link to you tube so bear with me if it doesn't work the first time................Tom

2011-04-25 9:56 PM
in reply to: #3465830

User image

Veteran
Boise, ID
Subject: RE: swim video..critique please
2011-04-25 10:23 PM

User image

1) Consider changing to bilateral breathing. Using this method will help you decrease drag, equally work muscles and coordination on both sides of your body, and when you enter the open water you'll swim straighter. 

2)Shorten your kick and speed it up. It appears that you have a scissor kick going on which is increasing drag and also causing your back end to drop. Also, if you try to sustain that for a mile (assuming your training for an olympic tri) your legs are going to be worn out for the bike and run.

Just a couple observations. Both critiques given to me from a certified tri coach. 

2011-04-25 10:55 PM

User image

New user

A few things: