Other Resources My Cup of Joe » 12 hour shifts and triathlon training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2011-05-15 12:19 AM

Subject: 12 hour shifts and triathlon training
I am struggling to figure out how to fit my triathlon training into my new life schedule and was hoping someone here might have some ideas on how to make this work.

I am an emergency room nurse I work 12 hour shifts (usually 4 shifts in a row then 5 days off, 2 days on 3 days off and the whole cycle starts over again. I have had this schedule for quite some time and previously it wasn't an issue to hit the gym either before or after work because my commute was only 10 minutes from home to work or home to gym.

I recently got married and moved further away from work. I now have a 45 minute each way commute to work. I am really struggling with how to get my work outs in on my work days (days off are easy)

Working out before I leave for work has the drawbacks of being dark and the gym not being open in time for me to get a work out in before I need to get on the freeway to get to work.

Working out after work has the drawbacks of having already worked a 12 hour shift in one of the busiest ERs in the country and then having 45 minutes of sitting in the truck on the freeway before I can get to the gym which kinda zaps what little energy I have left and then feel like a bad wife for being gone for even more hours of the day and not being there to eat dinner with him.

Is anyone else in a similar situation? How do you make it work?

Addendum: and no working out at work is not an option its a good day if I get to eat lunch before 4pm (and its only a 30 min break for lunch)

2011-05-15 1:17 AM
in reply to: #3499553

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: 12 hour shifts and triathlon training