General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Adjusting bike aero position as season progresses Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-05-25 5:24 PM

User image

Regular
Morgan Hill, CA
Subject: Adjusting bike aero position as season progresses

Hello... Back in February of this year, I went to my LBS for a Tri/TT-configured bike fitting. Since I was a newbie, the fitter set me up in a fairly conservative initial position -- my saddle and aerobar armpads were approximately the same height.

About 6 weeks later, I returned to the same shop to inquire about a follow-up adjustment. Unfortunatey, the guy who initially fitted me was no longer employed by the shop. I asked about getting another adjustment, but the shop had not yet hired a replacement fitter. I was also told that I'd have to pay for any follow-up fittings (even though I'd paid $175 for the first one -- ugh). Needless to say, I haven't returned again to this particular shop...

Anyway, after doing some research, I figured I could just do the adjustments myself. I read somewhere that for every cm you drop the aerobars, you should also move the saddle position forward approximately the same cm. Does this sound correct? In my case, for my first adjustment, I lowered the aerobar height about 5/8 of an inch, and moved the saddle forward about 5/8 of inch. The new position felt a little different at first, but I adjusted quickly and was comfortable after a couple of rides.

About a week ago, I did another adjustment. This time, I again dropped the bars another 5/8 inch and moved the saddle forward another 5/8 inch. Again, I adjusted quickly to the new position and felt comfortable within a few rides.

I realize bike fit is an individual matter and is different for everybody. But does it sound like I'm doing my gradual aero adjustments properly?