General Discussion Triathlon Talk » My first tri in two weeks-swimming and biking strategy Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-12 11:30 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: My first tri in two weeks-swimming and biking strategy

Hi,

I'm doing my first tri in two weeks. I will be competing ( with myslef lol) in an Olympic distance tri in Philadelphia.  Since I do not have any athletic background my goal is just to finish it, have fun, and learn how to pace myself.  I started running a few years ago, and I started learning  free style in December. When I was in high school and in college, I biked a lot and swam in the ocean, but I swam with breaststoke and on my back.       I would be happy if I can finish the tri in 4 hours ( 1h for a swim, 3 hours for biking, running and transition.)  I know I'm a turtle.

Anyway I have two questions. One is about swimming.  I have been preparing for this tri since December , I have had  two coached 1 hour swim practices a week. It helped me  a lot, but my technique is still not pefect and swimming in free style  makes me tired pretty qucikly.        I recentely took one hour private  swim lesson. It was really great. It took me from doing 100 yards in 2. 40 seconds to 2.10.  No one had told me in the past  that I needed to keep my tights together during the swim.  I have scheduled two more private lessons in the next week, but I'm not sure if I can improve in sucha  short period of time.

I noticed that when I do breaststroke I can swim 100 yards in 2, 2. 10 min. Since breaststroke does not make me really tired, I can really do it with the most ease ,should I use this style during my tri? I realize that a  breaststroke is not a "group -friendly" stroke , but I was planning to stay away from people as far as possible and start swimming 5 minutes after everybody leaves. I do not want to be kicked in my face.