General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike fit, can multiple bikes work? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-08-03 8:49 AM

Subject: Bike fit, can multiple bikes work?

I am just getting into cycling.  Avid runner and swimmer so thought I would start biking and doing some tris.  Done a lot of mountain biking but not much road.

I have a Cycleops 300 trainer and set it up in a tri-bike configuration and have been getting used to riding with that.  So now I am getting ready to buy a bike and think I want a tri/TT bike.  I went to 3 different stores for fitting/trying bikes and have rode my friends Cervelo P2, he and I are the same size, but we didn't make any major adjustments.  I also tried the Trek 7.0, Specialized Trans, and Felt B12, basically all the entry level carbon tri bikes.  I rode them all for a couple of miles at most, and could tell the difference amongst them, but none felt "better" than the other.  They all felt comfortable to me.

My question is do I need to ride them for longer to find where the separation point is, or is it possible that I could buy 1 bike and make it work?

2011-08-03 3:20 PM
in reply to: #3626915

User image

New user

Subject: RE: Bike fit, can multiple bikes work?

here is what i found out over the time of riding my different bikes.

1) every bike has a different feeling to it once you have it properly tuned into your body height/mass

2) carbon vs aluminum is a big difference and everyone has their personal opinion on what one is better. personally I love aluminum vs carbon. call me crazy, but I can tell the flex is there and don't like it too much.  

3) running is evil. 

a few miles of riding a bike is ok, but when i tested my bikes i basically gave my LBS my credit card and then took off for a 25 mile ride.  they had no problem with that at all ( just ask before doing that. some LBS will not let you leave the parking lot and they are not the ones looking for my money)