General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sufferfest training questions.... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-09-14 7:01 AM

User image

Subject: Sufferfest training questions....

Just got a trainer about a week ago...already tried the Spinnervals and just downloaded my first Sufferfest video..Downboard spiral! Now I want to get the most out of my workout because I am a extreme beginner to cycling. I got a nice bike computer that has cadence, speed, and HR monitor. What I' trying to figure out is where I should be during the workout. They rate the effort from a scale of 1-10. Should you basically be staying in the same  gearing just adjusting your Cadence? Sometimes it tells you be in the low 80's rpms if your a newbie (which i am) but the low 80's can be alot different depending on gearing. Should I just be looking at HR? My cardio is pretty good I need more work on leg endurance and I know they say for triathletes keep the cadence up (go in an easier gear) so you dont completely wear out your legs. Any help is much appreciated...my workouts now are good...the videos kick your butt but I want to track my progress and make sure I'm not going to easy...Thanks again

2011-09-14 7:14 AM
in reply to: #3685565

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Sufferfest training questions....