TRI-It Productions, Inc.
89F / 32C
Sunny
Total Time = 16h 39m 48s
Overall Rank = 90/122
Age Group = M35-39
Age Group Rank = 18/22
Pre-race routine:

Before I get into the details of this race. I am so proud that I finished this. 2005 is my first full tri-season. In fact, I have gone from Couch-to-Iron Distance in about 13 months. I have trained hard for a year to get where I am now. I bought my bike in August of last year, before that I hadn't ridden any kind of road bike at all. I started running in July of last year, 2 miles at a time is all I could do and I'm still learning how to swim.

I wanted to do much better in this than I did, but I learned a lot about my self and am encouraged to press on.

----Race Recap----
My wife, I and her training partner went up to Oklahoma City on Thursday, 2 days before the race. We got into some of the traffic getting out of Texas, people were evacuating Houston and other areas getting out of the way of Rita. 6 hour drive, we got there about 10pm Thursday night.

Friday we drove the Bike course, packet pickup, Carb loaded at Olive Garden, packed our transition bags, carried our bikes and bags to the transition area and then headed off to the race meeting. We got to bed around 9:30pm. I slept real good for 2.5 hours, then bam! 12am hit and I was up for the rest of the night, could not turn my brain off. I even went to the lobby and watched about and hour of Austin Powers, but still was not tired enough to sleep.

4:00am FINALLY happened. YES it is race time. Got up, had a ham and cheese pita pocket, OJ, banana and some Gatorade. Left for the lake at 5:15am.

Got body-marked, timing chip, located my T1 bag to make sure all was in place. I ate a PowerGel about 30 minutes before the start with some water and then Gatorade. Sprayed PAM all over my legs to pull my wetsuit on, went on down to the water with my wife and her training partner.
Event warmup:

No warmup!, come-on, I have 140.6 miles to cover today!
Swim
  • 1h 42m 26s